George's feedback&thoughts about
Peace Camp, Spring 2005
On 31 March we went to Israel by plane. There we met all the people who we had met in Rechberg last year and some new ones. We went to the desert,
where we stayed for two days. We slept in a tent next to some Beduines.
We learned a lot of their culture and their lifestyle. After that our bus driver took us to Jerusalem, where we also stayed for two days. Amazing, is the only word which comes to my mind when I now think about it. Three religions together in one place, I think that is a unique place in the world.
Afterwards we went to the Arab town Qualansua. There I was fascinated by
the Arab people, who were so friendly although they did not even know us, but they showed us their homes at night and drove us to different places!! Next day we went to Nazareth and after that to Ben’s house, where we all stayed overnight.
The last day we were shown a Kibbutz and we learned about the lifestyle of the people who live there. After our last night we had to say goodbye at 4 o’clock in the morning. This was the end of our journey, the end of the second part of our Peace Camp, but for sure not the end of our friendship.
For me this was a perfectly organized camp, so for me nothing was left out. The only thing which I didn’t like was the discussion in Jerusalem, which in my opinion ended with open questions and in anger. My feelings during the camp were somehow a mixture. I had every feeling: I felt sad, happy, tired, angry, but most of the time I was just happy to be there with all the people.
Concerning open questions: The only open question for me is how it will go on now, because nobody knows if we’ll ever meet again. There is also my only fear
that we won’t meet again.
If you ask me what I expect from the next camp: My expectation is that there will be one more camp.

Georg

... comment

 
hallo
hey georg
how are you?
i would like to say 2 things for you and for the others.
first of all about the left open questions there are alot of left open questions because we cant answer them because they dont have answers we just say our things and reflections.
second be aoptimistic because we will meet again every one of us have a long life and every one can visit you in austria also i would like to visit all the friends that they were with us in the peace camp so dont be afraid of any thing.
hope that you will have a good time and go on
bye reem


... comment