Eilam's reflections on spring-peacecamp 2005
The week spent together in Israel, was something of a continuance. The picture was wanting to spend time with friends; using seven days in the best way possible, to store strong memories of all the amazing experiences happening. More than that, it was also about finding the borders, or more nicely phrased, differences, and getting over them, behind them, between them. Playing with it.

It was all personal. Being there, you could see special interactions between just everyone and everybody else. Some loved by others, some bonded, some not so understood. Everything and everything was in there, somehow; again, love; cooperation; mistery; affection; game; weakness; weirdness; humour; hunger; thirst; desire; patience; tolerance; self-containment; confusion. Every night was different, every day a different host. Lonelyness, privacy and togetherness.

It was fun and hard. Tough but short, too short. I don't believe something from this, could make it up to anything closer to a national level, but at least all of the participants have been sucked into an international-intercultural mind. Slowly, this sort of activities can change individuals anywhere, to act on a personal level, without pregiodism. The one thing that we must understand, is that achieving such an accomplishment takes a lot of time and a lot of learning.

Just to give another view, my personal gain and expeience. I've gotten much closer to everybody involved in the project, I'd say even more than to some people I've spent three years with, in the same class at school. I've learned a lot, how to act in various situations I may encounter during life. I get out of this week wanting more, and I know I'll get to be with the people I met here more.

For now,
Eilam.

... comment

 
ahavti!
as Juliet said in 7th grade - The Poet. :)
I really liked what you wrote and how you wrote it! see ya next time !
Ben


... comment